VISALIA ROTARY COMMUNITY FOUNDATION MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Quail Park at Shannon Ranch Conference Room 3440 West Flagstaff Avenue, Visalia, CA 93291 With a Zoom Option June 27, 2023

Meeting called to order at 7:00 a.m. by President Susan Lucas.

PRESENT (*indicates voting positions followed by applicable one or three-year term expiration year): Susan Lucas (President*, 2023; Director of Scholarship Selection*, 2023); Eric Shannon (Executive Director*; Director of Long-Range Fund Raising/Planned Giving*, 2024); Gary Simmons (Treasurer*, 2023); Francie Langley (Secretary*, 2023); Anees Akhund (Immediate Past President*, 2023); Cheri Barnes (President Elect, 2023); Shirle Reynolds (Executive Assistant); Jeff Moyer (Director of Scholarship Administration*, 2023); Ryan Purkiss (Executive Secretary*; Director of Finance and Fellowships*, 2024); Dru Quesnoy (Director of Public Relations and Marketing*, 2023); Donn Ritter (Director of Grants*, 2024); Deborah Volosin (Director of Gift Recognition*, 2024); Dennis Goebel (VBR*, 2023); Jeff Boswell (Financial Advisor). ABSENT: Gerry Schneider (Vice President*, 2023); Tom Hornburg (President Nominee, 2023); Marty Zeeb (Director of Fund Raising/Events*, 2023); Greg Hagopian (VRC*, 2023); Kris Lareau (VCC*, 2023); Jarrod Harbour (VSR*, 2023); Steve Chrisman (Board Member Emeritus); Phil Hornburg (Board Member Emeritus), and Duane Scott (Board Member Emeritus).

A quorum is 33 1/3% of the nineteen-member voting Board which equals six directors; this meeting had **ten** votes in the form of **thirteen** directors toward a quorum. A majority vote shall be sufficient to constitute action by the Board of Directors. When a director holds more than one directorship each directorship counts toward a quorum, but the director has only one vote.

MINUTES: The minutes of the May 23, 2023, meeting stand as presented.

FINANCIAL REPORT: Gary Simmons reported the total balance in all the accounts was \$6,459,658.31as of June 23, 2023, compared to the balance of \$6,316,193.24 as of May 18, 2022. \$2,000 was disbursed during the month on scholarships.

OLD BUSINESS:

- A.) Scholarship Committee No report.
- B.) Grant Committee Donn Ritter grants were approved at the last meeting and checks will be distributed. Grants approved at the last meeting totaled \$109,500 awarded as follows: Bethlehem Center, \$25,000; Blanket Ladies under the umbrella of the Parenting Network, \$5,000; KH Foundation, \$15,000; Salt + Light, \$10,000; Visalia Rescue Mission, \$15,000; Family Services of Tulare County, \$15,000; Happy Trails, \$9,500; Boys & Girls Club \$15,000.

- C.) Respite House Deborah Volosin reported the combined Respite House units were used 29 of 56 days in February, 18 of 62 days in March, and 21 of 60 days in April. The average stay is three days. More use will be encouraged.
- D.) Wine & Cheese Reception The reception to honor Phil Hornburg, Duane Scott, and Steve Chrisman will be Tuesday December 12, 2023, at Quail Park at Shannon Ranch at 5:30 pm. Jeff Moyer will arrange for the food and Eric Shannon will provide some adult beverages. Some modest decorations are needed.
- E.) Board Additions Please provide Shirle the names and emails of the member clubs' president elects.
- F.) Website Member clubs are requested to provide updated information every month for posting on the website or to at let the webmaster know there is "no change."
- G.) Rotary Theater Donn Ritter is obtaining bids for remodeling the dressing rooms.
- H.) Thank You! Many thanks to Susan Lucas for serving as our President this year! Well done!

NEW BUSINESS: None

NEXT MEETING: Next meeting will be at 7:00 am on July 25, 2023, at Quail Park at Shannon Ranch conference room, 3440 W. Flagstaff Avenue, Visalia, CA with a Zoom option. "Thank you!" for all you do for The Foundation and our community!

ADJOURNMENT: Meeting adjourned at 7:18 a.m.

Francie Langley Secretary

Foundation President Rotation Schedule:

VSR – Cheri Barnes 2023-2024 VCC – Tom Hornburg 2024-2025

VLR – if reinstated

VBR VRC

With appreciation and thanks, we honor our Past Presidents:

2021-2022
2020-2021
2019-2020
2018-2019
2017-2018
2016-2017
2015-2016
2014-2015
2013-2014
2012-2013
2011-2012

19- Al Fischer	2010-2011
18- Marvin Hansen	2009-2010
17- William Martin	2008-2009
16- Paul Sonier	2007-2008
15- Bob Eurich	2006-2007
14- Eric Shannon	2005-2006
13- Gorden Bergthold	2004-2005
12- Barbara Fuller	2003-2004
11- Dru Quesnoy	2002-2003
10- Dick Torrigino	2001-2002
9 - Don Estes	2000-2001
8 - H. R. Macklin	1999-2000
7 - Larry Benevento	1998-1999
6 - Gary Paden	1997-1998
5 - David Hyde	1996-1997
4 - Philip Hornburg	1995-1996
3 - Duane Scott	1994-1995
2 - Jim Cline	1993-1994
1 - Philip Hornburg	1992-1993