## VISALIA ROTARY COMMUNITY FOUNDATION MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Quail Park at Shannon Ranch Conference Room 3440 West Flagstaff Avenue, Visalia, CA 93291 With a Zoom Option December 6, 2022

Meeting called to order at 7:00 a.m. by Past President Anees Akhund.

PRESENT (\*indicates voting positions followed by applicable one or three-year term expiration year): Eric Shannon (Executive Director\*; Director of Long-Range Fund Raising/Planned Giving\*, 2024); Ryan Purkiss (Executive Secretary\*; Director of Finance and Fellowships\*, 2024); Gary Simmons (Treasurer, 2023); Francie Langley (Secretary, 2023); Cheri Barnes (President Elect, 2023); Anees Akhund (Immediate Past President\*, 2023); Shirle Reynolds (Executive Assistant); Jeff Moyer (Director of Scholarship Administration\*, 2023); Dru Quesnoy (Director of Marketing\*, 2023); Deborah Volosin (Director of Giving Administration and Tracking Soon-To-Be-Named Director of Gift Recognition\*, 2024); Marty Zeeb (Major Projects Coordinator Soon-To-Be-Named Director of Fund Raising/Events, 2023); Greg Hagopian (VRC\*, 2023); Dennis Goebel (VBR\*, 2023); Jarrod Harbour (VSR\*, 2023); Phil Hornburg (Board Member Emeritus); Jeff Boswell (Financial Advisor). ABSENT: Susan Lucas (President\*, 2023; Director of Scholarship Selection\*, 2023); Gerry Schneider (Vice President, 2023); Tom Hornburg (President Nominee, 2023); Donn Ritter (Director of Grants\*, 2024); Kris Lareau (VCC\*, 2023); Steve Chrisman (Board Member Emeritus); and Duane Scott (Board Member Emeritus).

A quorum is 33 1/3% of the fifteen-member voting Board which equals five directors; this meeting had **nine** votes in the form of **eleven** directors toward a quorum. A majority vote shall be sufficient to constitute action by the Board of Directors. When a director holds more than one directorship each directorship counts toward a quorum, but the director has only one vote.

**MINUTES**: The minutes of the October 25, 2022, meeting stand as presented.

**FINANCIAL REPORT**: The financial report was provided to all attendees. The total balance in all the accounts was \$7,079,855.19 as of December 1, 2022, compared to the balance of \$6,520,947.47 as of October 21, 2022. The financial report will be filed. (The financial report is a *report*; motion to approve is not required.)

## **OLD BUSINESS:**

- A.) Scholarship Committee No report.
- B.) Grant Committee No report.
- C.) Website Update No report.
- D.) Bylaws Amendment Phil Hornburg reported the bylaws have been sent to the clubs. Club representatives: please remind your club to sign and return them.

- E.) Respite House Deborah Volosin reported there are plans for an open house and meetings once or twice a month for hospital staff, so everyone may become familiar with the house and its availability.
- F.) Latino Club The Latino Club is very interested in approval of the restated bylaws. The Foundation meetings are open, and representatives of the Latino club may attend Foundation meetings now if they wish.
- G.) Guynes Note Receivable The note has been extended with a slight increase in the interest rate. The Foundation is in the "first position," as established after completion of the title search. The value of the property is estimated at approximately \$650,000. Thank you, Matt Bixler, for your pro bono work on this!
- H.) St. Patrick's Day Party Jeff and Dru met with Katy at ImagineU to coordinate the location of the event. Dru and Jeff need a committee, which Ryan agreed to join, and Dru will ask Donn to join. Tasting stations are needed. It should be fun.

## **NEW BUSINESS:**

- A.) Brewfest No report.
- B.) Year End Letters Eric Shannon mentioned Susan signing the customary year end letter to be mailed.

**NEXT MEETING**: Next meeting will be at 7:00 am on January 24, 2023, at Quail Park at Shannon Ranch with a Zoom option. "Thank you!" for all you do for The Foundation and our community!

**ADJOURNMENT**: Meeting adjourned at 7:17 a.m.

Francie Langley Secretary

Foundation President Rotation Schedule:

VSR – Cheri Barnes 2023-2024 VCC – Tom Hornburg 2024-2025

VLR – if reinstated

**VBR** 

**VRC** 

## With appreciation and thanks, we honor our Past Presidents:

30-Anees Akhund	2021-2022
29- Deborah Volosin	2020-2021
28- Ryan Purkiss	2019-2020
27- Bruce Nicotero	2018-2019
26- Lloyd Hicks	2017-2018
25- Marty Zeeb	2016-2017
24- Donn Ritter	2015-2016

23- Gerry Schneider	2014-2015
22- Dale Bruder	2013-2014
21- Peter Golombeck	2012-2013
20- Laurie Tiesiera	2011-2012
19- Al Fischer	2010-2011
18- Marvin Hansen	2009-2010
17- William Martin	2008-2009
16- Paul Sonier	2007-2008
15- Bob Eurich	2006-2007
14- Eric Shannon	2005-2006
13- Gorden Bergthold	2004-2005
12- Barbara Fuller	2003-2004
11- Dru Quesnoy	2002-2003
10- Dick Torrigino	2001-2002
9 - Don Estes	2000-2001
8 - H. R. Macklin	1999-2000
7 - Larry Benevento	1998-1999
6 - Gary Paden	1997-1998
5 - David Hyde	1996-1997
4 - Philip Hornburg	1995-1996
3 - Duane Scott	1994-1995
2 - Jim Cline	1993-1994
1 - Philip Hornburg	1992-1993