## VISALIA ROTARY COMMUNITY FOUNDATION MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Quail Park at Shannon Ranch Conference Room 3440 West Flagstaff Avenue, Visalia, CA 93291 With a Zoom Option September 27, 2022

Meeting called to order at 7:02 a.m. by President Susan Lucas.

PRESENT (\*indicates voting positions followed by applicable one or three-year term expiration year): Susan Lucas (President\*, 2023; Director of Scholarship Selection\*, 2023); Eric Shannon (Executive Director\*; Director of Long-Range Fund Raising/Planned Giving\*, 2024); Gerry Schneider (Vice President, 2023); Gary Simmons (Treasurer, 2023); Francie Langley (Secretary, 2023); Anees Akhund (Immediate Past President\*, 2023); Shirle Reynolds (Executive Assistant); Jeff Moyer (Director of Scholarship Administration\*, 2023); Dru Quesnoy (Director of Marketing\*, 2023); Donn Ritter (Director of Grants\*, 2024), Deborah Volosin (Director of Giving Administration and Tracking Soon-To-Be-Named Director of Gift Recognition\*, 2024); Marty Zeeb (Major Projects Coordinator Soon-To-Be-Named Director of Fund Raising/Events, 2023); Tom Hornburg (President Nominee, 2023); Kris Lareau (VCC\*, 2023) ABSENT: Cheri Barnes (President Elect, 2023); Ryan Purkiss (Executive Secretary\*; Director of Finance and Fellowships\*, 2024) Greg Hagopian (VRC\*, 2023); Dennis Goebel (VBR\*, 2023); Jarrod Harbour (VSR\*, 2023); Steve Chrisman (Board Member Emeritus); Phil Hornburg (Board Member Emeritus) and Duane Scott (Board Member Emeritus).

A quorum is 33 1/3% of the fifteen-member voting Board which equals five directors; this meeting had **seven** votes in the form of **eight** directors toward a quorum. A majority vote shall be sufficient to constitute action by the Board of Directors. When a director holds more than one directorship each directorship counts toward a quorum, but the director has only one vote.)

**MINUTES**: The minutes of the August 23, 2022, meeting stand as presented.

**FINANCIAL REPORT**: Gary Simmons reported the total balance in all the accounts was \$6,655,793.24 as of September 22, 2022, compared to the balance of \$7,125,270.64 as of August 18, 2022. \$15,000 was paid during the month from the Harrell Scholarship Fund to the COS Foundation. \$2,000 was paid for the Visalia Rotary Scholarship. \$551,016.04 has been received for Centennial sponsorships as of the date of the report. A total of \$286,891.44 has been disbursed towards refurbishing the Rotary Theater and \$80,932.41 has been spent on the Centennial Event. Expenses for the Rotary Theater landscaping and marquee are yet to be paid. Once paid, there is expected to be remaining funds available to pay for additional Rotary Theater improvements (e.g., dressing rooms.) The financial report will be filed. (The financial report is a report; motion to approve is not required.)

## **OLD BUSINESS:**

- A.) Scholarship Committee No report.
- B.) Grant Committee No report. Six "Thank You" notes received.
- C.) Website Update Let Gerry Schneider know of any desired announcements, ideas, corrections, omissions, etc. regarding the website.
- D.) Bylaws Amendment Gerry Schneider detailed the Executive Committee proposed changes to the bylaws: Article V Directors. 5.1: Concerning the number of voting directors, how they are selected, and clarification of club representation to the board. 5.1.1 Responsibilities of Officers was revised. 5.2 Emeritus Directors section was added. Article XI: 11.2 Electronic Signatures added. Gerry will email the changes to board members by the next board meeting with the hope the bylaws may be approved by the board and sent to the clubs for signatures.
- E.) Respite House No report.
- F.) Latino Club No report. The question of their participation in the VRCF is desired. The new bylaws address the question of the ability to pay dues as a requirement for membership in the Foundation because there will be two levels of membership. One level is current on dues and voting privileges. The other level is not current on dues and no voting privileges.
- G.) Guynes Note Receivable The note is due. Matt Bixler has notified Mrs. Guynes but she has not responded. Her payments are interest only and her payments are current. We don't want to force it but need to protect our rights relating to the note. This will be pursued.

## **NEW BUSINESS:**

- A.) St. Patrick's Day Party Discussion was held regarding the sometimes-annual St. Patrick's Day party. Dru Quesnoy will develop a committee to plan the event which is to be held at Imagine U Museum in March.
- B.) Holiday Meetings The meetings for November and December will be combined and held on December 6, 2022.

**NEXT MEETING**: Next meeting will be at 7:00 am on October 25, 2022, with plans to meet in person at Quail Park at Shannon Ranch with a Zoom option. "Thank you!" for all you do for The Foundation and our community!

**ADJOURNMENT**: Meeting adjourned at 7:31 a.m.

Francie Langley Secretary

**Reminder**) The Foundation is now registered with Amazon Smile Foundation. Shop online at smile.amazon.com for eligible merchandise and .5% of the purchase will be donated to our Foundation; *Club Representatives* please remind your clubs.

Foundation President Rotation Schedule:

VSR – Cheri Barnes 2023-2024 VCC – Tom Hornburg 2024-2025

VLR – if reinstated

VBR VRC

## With appreciation and thanks, we honor our Past Presidents:

30-Anees Akhund	2021-2022
29- Deborah Volosin	2020-2021
28- Ryan Purkiss	2019-2020
27- Bruce Nicotero	2018-2019
26- Lloyd Hicks	2017-2018
25- Marty Zeeb	2016-2017
24- Donn Ritter	2015-2016
23- Gerry Schneider	2014-2015
22- Dale Bruder	2013-2014
21- Peter Golombeck	2012-2013
20- Laurie Tiesiera	2011-2012
19- Al Fischer	2010-2011
18- Marvin Hansen	2009-2010
17- William Martin	2008-2009
16- Paul Sonier	2007-2008
15- Bob Eurich	2006-2007
14- Eric Shannon	2005-2006
13- Gorden Bergthold	2004-2005
12- Barbara Fuller	2003-2004
11- Dru Quesnoy	2002-2003
10- Dick Torrigino	2001-2002
9 - Don Estes	2000-2001
8 - H. R. Macklin	1999-2000
7 - Larry Benevento	1998-1999
6 - Gary Paden	1997-1998
5 - David Hyde	1996-1997
4 - Philip Hornburg	1995-1996
3 - Duane Scott	1994-1995
2 - Jim Cline	1993-1994
1 - Philip Hornburg	1992-1993