## VISALIA ROTARY COMMUNITY FOUNDATION MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Quail Park at Shannon Ranch Conference Room 3440 West Flagstaff Avenue, Visalia, CA 93291 With a Zoom Option August 23, 2022

Meeting called to order at 7:00 a.m. by President Susan Lucas.

PRESENT (\*indicates voting positions followed by applicable one or three-year term expiration year): Susan Lucas (President\*, 2023; Director of Scholarship Selection\*, 2023); Eric Shannon (Executive Director\*; Director of Long-Range Fund Raising/Planned Giving\*, 2024); Ryan Purkiss (Executive Secretary\*; Director of Finance and Fellowships\*, 2024); Gerry Schneider (Vice President, 2023); Gary Simmons (Treasurer, 2023); Francie Langley (Secretary, 2023); Anees Akhund (Immediate Past President\*, 2023); Shirle Reynolds (Executive Assistant); Cheri Barnes (President Elect, 2023); Jeff Moyer (Director of Scholarship Administration\*, 2023); Dru Quesnoy (Director of Marketing\*, 2023); Donn Ritter (Director of Grants\*, 2024), Deborah Volosin (Director of Giving Administration and Tracking Soon-To-Be-Named Director of Gift Recognition\*, 2024); Greg Hagopian (VRC\*, 2023); Dennis Goebel (VBR\*, 2023); Jarrod Harbour (VSR\*, 2023); Tom Hornburg (President Nominee, 2023); and Phil Hornburg (Board member Emeritus). ABSENT: Marty Zeeb (Major Projects Coordinator Soon-To-Be-Named Director of Fund Raising/Events, 2023); Kris Lareau (VCC\*, 2023); Steve Chrisman (Board Member Emeritus); and Duane Scott (Board Member Emeritus).

A quorum is 33 1/3% of the fifteen-member voting Board which equals five directors; this meeting had **eleven** votes in the form of **fourteen** directors toward a quorum. A majority vote shall be sufficient to constitute action by the Board of Directors. When a director holds more than one directorship each directorship counts toward a quorum, but the director has only one vote.)

**MINUTES**: The minutes of the July 26, 2022, meeting stand as corrected. (Motion to approve is not required.)

**FINANCIAL REPORT**: Gary Simmons reported the total balance in all the accounts was \$7,125,270.64 as of August 18, 2022, compared to the balance of \$6,859,336.96 as of July 21, 2022. \$32,500 was paid during the month for scholarships. \$551,016.04 has been received for Centennial sponsorships as of the date of the report. A total of \$286,787.28 has been disbursed towards refurbishing the Rotary Theater and \$80,932.41 has been spent on the Centennial Event. Expenses for the Rotary Theater landscaping and marquee are yet to be paid. Once paid, there is expected to be remaining funds available to pay for additional Rotary Theater improvements (e.g., dressing rooms.) The financial report will be filed. (The financial report is a report; motion to approve is not required.)

## **OLD BUSINESS:**

- A.) Scholarship Committee Susan Lucas reported that the committee will review applications for vocational scholarships and COS scholarships. Susan is connecting with scholarship coordinators at the high schools to increase application submissions. It was suggested to publish scholarship opportunities in the high schools' student bulletins. (Good catch, Dru!)
- B.) Grant Committee Donn Ritter reported the Grant Committee is receiving "thank you" notes from grant recipients. Eric Shannon reminded the Board that grant recipients that do not send a "thank you" are not considered favorably upon submission of future grant applications. Salt & Light contacted Donn about a grant, but the Foundation policy is to consider applications annually between February and May. The Emergency Fund is available for emergency grants outside of that time frame.
- C.) Website Update The new website is available and more user friendly than the prior configuration. Let Gerry Schneider know of any ideas, corrections, omissions, etc. regarding the website. The Foundation needs someone to keep content updated monthly. This position would be for updating content not web design.
- D.) Bylaws Amendment The review of the bylaws will be discussed at the Executive Committee meeting to be held after this board meeting. Thanks to Tom Hornburg and Robert Nix at Houk & Hornburg for their work on the bylaws. Kudos to Eric Shannon and Duane Scott for the description of duties for the positions of Executive Director and Executive Secretary.
- E.) Respite House Debra Volosin reported on Respite House usage. Sharon's Place was used by 32 parties over the past two months and Al's Place was used by 14 parties. Average stay per party is three days. Patient and Family Services at the hospital has been educated about the availability of the Respite House. Deborah Volosin, Liz Wynn, and the Huttons are heavily advocating for the use of the facility.
- F.) Latino Club No report; but will be kept on future agendas.

## **NEW BUSINESS:**

No New Business

**NEXT MEETING**: Next meeting will be at 7:00 am on September 27, 2022, with plans to meet in person at Quail Park at Shannon Ranch with a Zoom option. "Thank you!" for all you do for The Foundation and our community!

**ADJOURNMENT**: Meeting adjourned at 7:36 a.m.

Francie Langley Secretary

**Reminder**) The Foundation is now registered with Amazon Smile Foundation. Shop online at smile.amazon.com for eligible merchandise and .5% of the purchase will be donated to our Foundation; *Club Representatives* please remind your clubs.

Foundation President Rotation Schedule:

VSR – Cheri Barnes 2023-2024 VCC – Tom Hornburg 2024-2025

VLR – if reinstated

VBR VRC

## With appreciation and thanks, we honor our Past Presidents:

30-Anees Akhund	2021-2022
29- Deborah Volosin	2020-2021
28- Ryan Purkiss	2019-2020
27- Bruce Nicotero	2018-2019
26- Lloyd Hicks	2017-2018
25- Marty Zeeb	2016-2017
24- Donn Ritter	2015-2016
23- Gerry Schneider	2014-2015
22- Dale Bruder	2013-2014
21- Peter Golombeck	2012-2013
20- Laurie Tiesiera	2011-2012
19- Al Fischer	2010-2011
18- Marvin Hansen	2009-2010
17- William Martin	2008-2009
16- Paul Sonier	2007-2008
15- Bob Eurich	2006-2007
14- Eric Shannon	2005-2006
13- Gorden Bergthold	2004-2005
12- Barbara Fuller	2003-2004
11- Dru Quesnoy	2002-2003
10- Dick Torrigino	2001-2002
9 - Don Estes	2000-2001
8 - H. R. Macklin	1999-2000
7 - Larry Benevento	1998-1999
6 - Gary Paden	1997-1998
5 - David Hyde	1996-1997
4 - Philip Hornburg	1995-1996
3 - Duane Scott	1994-1995
2 - Jim Cline	1993-1994
1 - Philip Hornburg	1992-1993