APPROVED

VISALIA ROTARY COMMUNITY FOUNDATION MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS Quail Park at Shannon Ranch Conference Room 3440 West Flagstaff Avenue, Visalia, CA 93291 With a Zoom Option July 26, 2022

Meeting called to order at 7:00 a.m. by President Susan Lucas.

PRESENT (*indicates voting positions followed by applicable one or three-year term expiration year): Susan Lucas (President*, 2023; Director of Scholarship Selection*, 2023); Eric Shannon (Executive Director*; Director of Long-Range Fund Raising/Planned Giving*, 2024); Gerry Schneider (Vice President, 2023); Gary Simmons (Treasurer, 2023); Francie Langley (Secretary, 2023); Anees Akhund (Immediate Past President*, 2023); Shirle Reynolds (Executive Assistant); Cheri Barnes (President Elect, 2023); Jeff Moyer (Director of Scholarship Administration*, 2023); Dru Quesnoy (Director of Marketing*, 2023); Donn Ritter (Director of Grants*, 2024), Deborah Volosin (Director of Giving Administration and Tracking Soon-To-Be-Named Director of Gift Recognition*, 2024); Greg Hagopian (VRC*, 2023); Kris Lareau (VCC*, 2023); Dennis Goebel (VBR*, 2023); Tom Hornburg (President Nominee, 2023); Phil Hornburg (Board member Emeritus); and Gene Yunt. **ABSENT**: Ryan Purkiss (Executive Secretary*; Director of Finance and Fellowships*, 2024); Marty Zeeb (Major Projects Coordinator Soon-To-Be-Named Director of Fund Raising/Events, 2023); Jarrod Harbour (VSR*, 2023); Steve Chrisman (Board Member Emeritus); and Duane Scott (Board Member Emeritus).

A quorum is 33 1/3% of the fifteen-member voting Board which equals five directors; this meeting had **ten** votes in the form of **twelve** directors toward a quorum. A majority vote shall be sufficient to constitute action by the Board of Directors. When a director holds more than one directorship each directorship counts toward a quorum, but the director has only one vote.)

MINUTES: The minutes of the June 28, 2022, meeting stand as presented. (Motion to approve is not required.)

FINANCIAL REPORT: Gary Simmons reported the total balance in all the accounts was \$6,859,336.96 July 21, 2022, compared to the balance of \$6,951,330.59 June 23, 2022. \$190,000 was paid during the month from the General Fund for grants. Dues invoices have been mailed to the member clubs. \$551,016.04 has been received for Centennial sponsorships as of the date of the report. A total of \$286,787.28 has been disbursed towards refurbishing the Rotary Theater and \$80,932.41 has been spent on the Centennial Event. Expenses for the Rotary Theater landscaping and marquee are yet to be paid. Once paid, there is expected to be remaining funds available to pay for additional Rotary Theater improvements (e.g., dressing rooms.) The financial report will be filed. (The financial report is a report; motion to approve is not required.)

OLD BUSINESS:

- A.) Scholarship Committee Susan Lucas reported that the committee has received some applications for vocational scholarships and is coordinating with COS for more applications. Anees Akhund was enthusiastically accepted as a new member for the committee.
- B.) Grant Committee Donn Ritter reported the Grant Committee will have given all the approved grants to recipients by tomorrow. The committee will be in recess until the next grant cycle begins.
- C.) Website Update The new website is available and more user friendly than the prior configuration. The Foundation needs someone to keep content updated monthly. This position would be for updating content not web design.
- D.) Bylaws Amendment The review of the bylaws will be discussed at the Executive Committee meeting to be held after this board meeting.
- E.) Respite House Phil Hornburg and Debra Volosin reported on efforts toward full use of the Respite House. During the COVID challenges of 2020 and 2021 the hospital was limiting patient visitors, thus the house was used for quarantined hospital staff. In speaking with Don and Cathy Hutton, who were involved the predecessor respite house, it was not just the social worker who made connections for use of the house. Awareness for likely candidates for use of the house came from any hospital staff who saw a need (the staff in the emergency department, floor nurses, social worker, doctors, etc.) A brochure was developed for distribution to create awareness of the Respite House and its availability.

NEW BUSINESS:

- A.) Director of Gift Recognition It was MOVED by Gerry Schneider and seconded by Eric Shannon to elect Debra Volosin as Director of Gift Recognition. Motion APPROVED. Thank you, Debra!
- B.) Latino Club Eric Shannon reported that the Visalia Latino Rotary Club is rebuilding and is interested in joining the Foundation. They asked for a path to membership with milestones. This will be discussed the Executive Committee Meeting to be held after this meeting.
- C.) Marketing Committee Dru Quesnoy reported that Diane Hayes is joining the Marketing Committee to write press releases and public relations. "Thanks" and "Welcome" to Diane!
- D.) Thank You Note A Thank You note from Jordana Chano, a music scholarship recipient, was shared with the Board.

NEXT MEETING: Next meeting will be at 7:00 am on August 23, 2022, with plans to meet in person at Quail Park at Shannon Ranch with a Zoom option. "Thank you!" for all you do for The Foundation and our community!

ADJOURNMENT: Meeting adjourned at 7:30 a.m. (Well done, Susan!)

Francie Langley Secretary **Reminder**) The Foundation is now registered with Amazon Smile Foundation. Shop online at smile.amazon.com for eligible merchandise and .5% of the purchase will be donated to our Foundation; *Club Representatives* please remind your clubs.

Foundation President Rotation Schedule: VSR – Cheri Barnes 2023-2024 VCC – Tom Hornburg 2024-2025 VLR – if reinstated VBR VRC *With appreciation and thanks, we honor our Past Presidents*:

30-Anees Akhund	2021-2022
29- Deborah Volosin	2020-2021
28- Ryan Purkiss	2019-2020
27- Bruce Nicotero	2018-2019
26- Lloyd Hicks	2017-2018
25- Marty Zeeb	2016-2017
24- Donn Ritter	2015-2016
23- Gerry Schneider	2014-2015
22- Dale Bruder	2013-2014
21- Peter Golombeck	2012-2013
20- Laurie Tiesiera	2011-2012
19- Al Fischer	2010-2011
18- Marvin Hansen	2009-2010
17- William Martin	2008-2009
16- Paul Sonier	2007-2008
15- Bob Eurich	2006-2007
14- Eric Shannon	2005-2006
13- Gorden Bergthold	2004-2005
12- Barbara Fuller	2003-2004
11- Dru Quesnoy	2002-2003
10- Dick Torrigino	2001-2002
9 - Don Estes	2000-2001
8 - H. R. Macklin	1999-2000
7 - Larry Benevento	1998-1999
6 - Gary Paden	1997-1998
5 - David Hyde	1996-1997
4 - Philip Hornburg	1995-1996
3 - Duane Scott	1994-1995
2 - Jim Cline	1993-1994
1 - Philip Hornburg	1992-1993