VISALIA ROTARY COMMUNITY FOUNDATION MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Zoom Meeting October 26, 2021

Meeting called to order at 7:00 a.m. by Anees Akhund, President.

PRESENT (*indicates voting positions followed by applicable one or three-year term expiration year): Anees Akhund (President*, 2022), Eric Shannon (Executive Director*; Director of Long-Range Fund Raising/Planned Giving*, 2024), Duane Scott (Executive Secretary*), Phil Hornburg (Vice President, 2022), Francie Langley (Secretary*, 2022), Susan Lucas (President Elect, 2022 and Director of Scholarship Selection*, 2023), Deborah Volosin (Immediate Past President*, 2022), Dru Quesnoy (Director of Marketing*, 2023), Donn Ritter (Co-Director of Grants, 2022), Gerry Schneider (Director of Giving Administration and Tracking*, 2024), Marty Zeeb (Major Projects Coordinator, 2022), Scott Jacobsen, (VRC*, 2022), Samantha Rummage-Mathias (VCC*, 2022). ABSENT: Gary Simmons (Treasurer, 2022), Steve Chrisman (Director of Grants*, 2024), Jeff Moyer (Director of Scholarship Administration*, 2023), Ryan Purkiss, (Director of Finance and Fellowships*, 2024); Shirle Reynolds (Executive Assistant), Mike Ashoori (VBR*, 2022), Laura Dimmer (VSR*, 2022).

A quorum is 33 1/3% of the sixteen-member voting Board which equals six directors; this meeting had **eleven** quorum votes in the form of **ten** directors. A majority vote shall be sufficient to constitute action by the Board of Directors. When a director holds more than one directorship each directorship counts toward a quorum, but the director has only one vote.)

MINUTES: The minutes of the September 28, 2021, meeting stand as presented. (Motion to approve is not required.)

FINANCIAL REPORT: Duane Scott reported the total balance in all the accounts was \$7,969,673.72 on October 22, 2021, compared to the balance of \$7,896,560.99 on September 20, 2021. During the month, \$4,500.00 was disbursed for scholarships and \$87,596.98 was disbursed for Rotary Theater expenses. \$51,112.01 has been received for Centennial sponsorships. A total of \$146,769.38 has been disbursed towards refurbishing the Rotary Theater. Duane said he and Gary Simmons will analyze the balances in the accounts on December 31, 2021, and propose funds available for grants and scholarships at the January meeting. The financial report will be filed. (The financial report is a report; motion to approve is not required.)

OLD BUSINESS:

A.) Scholarship Committee – Susan Lucas reported seven or eight vocational scholarship applications have been received towards the October 15th vocational scholarship application deadline. She is in the process of contacting the committee members and she anticipates awarding six scholarships. The question was voiced regarding the scholarship funds given to the COS President's Scholars. The Foundation Board requested a report of

- who received scholarships. To that end, Donn Ritter volunteered to contact Tim Foster at COS.
- B.) Grant Committee Donn Ritter reported the committee will resume activities in January when applications are expected and available grant funds will be determined.
- C.) Rotary in Visalia Centennial Gerry Schneider reported there are some things to do to complete the theater remodel. Even so, the theater would be usable if the theater seats, which have not arrived, were installed. Dru Quesnoy report that the Event Committee is discussing hiring a speaker for the event to entertain, tell the story, deliver the pitch, sell the remaining seats, and build the energy. Board members mentioned that \$10,000 for the speaker would be well worth it and would inspire future donations in addition to any raised during the event. Scott Jacobsen reported sponsorships, pledges, and tickets total approximately \$141,000, which doesn't include \$25,000 from the Visalia Breakfast Rotary. Scott also said the theater seat display is moving around Visalia and is being placed in high traffic areas to spread awareness and generate interest/contributions.
- D.) VRCF Director for T.C. Hope Eric Shannon, Donn Ritter, Anees Akhund, and Phil Hornburg discussed the need for the Foundation representative on the T.C. Hope board to be available to attend three to four meetings per month. They are reaching out to Sam Logan, Merritt Wiseman, and Marv Hansen for candidate suggestions and contact.
- E.) Website and Facebook Update Gerry Schneider encouraged board members to like and share the VRCF site on Facebook.

NEW BUSINESS:

Foundation Board President for the year 2023 to 2024 – Phil Hornburg suggested the Foundation Board begin its efforts to find a past president of the Visalia Sunset Rotary Club to be Foundation president for the year July 1, 2023 to June 30, 2024. Donn Ritter said he would contact possible candidates.

NEXT MEETING: Next meeting will be at 7:00 am on a date to be determined (possibly November 30 or December 7), via Zoom. "Thank you!" for all you do for The Foundation and our community!

ADJOURNMENT: Meeting adjourned at 7:34 a.m.

Francie Langley Secretary

Reminder) The Foundation is now registered with Amazon Smile Foundation. Shop online at smile.amazon.com for eligible merchandise and .5% of the purchase will be donated to our Foundation; *Club Representatives* please remind your clubs.

Foundation President Rotation Schedule:

VRC – Susan Lucas 2022-2023 VSR – 2023-2024 VCC – 2024-2025

VLR – if reinstated

VBR

With appreciation and thanks, we honor our Past Presidents:

29- Deborah Volosin	2020-2021
28- Ryan Purkiss	2019-2020
27- Bruce Nicotero	2018-2019
26- Lloyd Hicks	2017-2018
25- Marty Zeeb	2016-2017
24- Donn Ritter	2015-2016
23- Gerry Schneider	2014-2015
22- Dale Bruder	2013-2014
21- Peter Golombeck	2012-2013
20- Laurie Tiesiera	2011-2012
19- Al Fischer	2010-2011
18- Marvin Hansen	2009-2010
17- William Martin	2008-2009
16- Paul Sonier	2007-2008
15- Bob Eurich	2006-2007
14- Eric Shannon	2005-2006
13- Gorden Bergthold	2004-2005
12- Barbara Fuller	2003-2004
11- Dru Quesnoy	2002-2003
10- Dick Torrigino	2001-2002
9 - Don Estes	2000-2001
8 - H. R. Macklin	1999-2000
7 - Larry Benevento	1998-1999
6 - Gary Paden	1997-1998
5 - David Hyde	1996-1997
4 - Philip Hornburg	1995-1996
3 - Duane Scott	1994-1995
2 - Jim Cline	1993-1994
1 - Philip Hornburg	1992-1993