VISALIA ROTARY COMMUNITY FOUNDATION MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Zoom Meeting September 28, 2021

Meeting called to order at 7:00 a.m. by Anees Akhund, President.

PRESENT (*indicates voting positions followed by applicable one or three-year term expiration year): Anees Akhund (President*, 2022), Eric Shannon (Executive Director*; Director of Long-Range Fund Raising/Planned Giving*, 2024), Duane Scott (Executive Secretary*), Gary Simmons (Treasurer, 2022), Francie Langley (Secretary*, 2022), Susan Lucas (President Elect, 2022 and Director of Scholarship Selection*, 2023), Deborah Volosin (Immediate Past President*, 2022), Steve Chrisman (Director of Grants*, 2024), Ryan Purkiss, (Director of Finance and Fellowships*, 2024); Donn Ritter (Co-Director of Grants, 2022), Gerry Schneider (Director of Giving Administration and Tracking*, 2024), Marty Zeeb (Major Projects Coordinator, 2022), Scott Jacobsen, (VRC*, 2022), Samantha Rummage-Mathias (VCC*, 2022). ABSENT: Phil Hornburg (Vice President, 2022), Jeff Moyer (Director of Scholarship Administration*, 2023), Shirle Reynolds (Executive Assistant), Dru Quesnoy (Director of Marketing*, 2023), Mike Ashoori (VBR*, 2022), Laura Dimmer (VSR*, 2022).

A quorum is 33 1/3% of the sixteen-member voting Board which equals six directors; this meeting had **twelve** quorum votes in the form of **eleven** directors. A majority vote shall be sufficient to constitute action by the Board of Directors. When a director holds more than one directorship each directorship counts toward a quorum, but the director has only one vote.)

MINUTES: The minutes of the August 24, 2021, meeting stand as presented. (Motion to approve is not required.)

FINANCIAL REPORT: Gary Simmons reported the total balance in all the accounts was \$7,896,560.99 on September 20, 2021, compared to the balance of \$7,889,918.21 on August 16, 2021. During the month, \$5,000.00 was disbursed for scholarships and \$11,888.65 was disbursed for Rotary Theater expenses. \$72,200 has been received for Centennial sponsorships. A total of \$59,172.40 has been disbursed towards refurbishing the Rotary Theater. The Guynes note receivable is due next year. Phil has written a letter to the Guynes regarding paying off the note or continuing at the current terms, but he hasn't received a reply yet. Duane Scott added that Jeff Boswell, a fellow Rotarian, is succeeding Gene Yunt as the Wells Fargo Advisors representative handling the Foundation investment accounts and as such will be working with Ryan Purkiss. We will add Jeff's email address to the list for meeting information. The financial report will be filed. (The financial report is a report; motion to approve is not required.)

OLD BUSINESS:

A.) Scholarship Committee – Susan Lucas reported two vocational scholarship applications have been received towards the October scholarship awards.

- B.) Grant Committee Steve Chrisman reported the committee will resume activities in January.
- C.) Rotary in Visalia Centennial Gerry Schneider reported painting the inside of the theater has been completed and the ceiling of the theater has been painted black, the fixtures and house lights have been installed, and the fixtures for the lobby will be installed soon. The outside concrete will be completed next. The goal to finish the project by October may be delayed as the last step is the installation of the seats. The seats were ordered in May, but installation will be delayed due to COVID-19 supply chain and labor shortages. A "shout out" to the Mangini's for their priceless assistance with this project. Visalia Unified School District has contributed much of the labor even with changes of administration personnel. The Vintage Press is catering the January Event. Scott Jacobsen reported seven Event sponsors at the \$10,000 level plus additional pledges for a total so far of \$115,000. Our goal is to raise \$500,000 with \$350,000 earmarked for the theater remodel. The VRCF has committed \$100,000 as has the Rotary Club of Visalia. The County Center Rotary Club and the Breakfast Rotary Club have each pledged \$25,000. Including the \$115,000 raised so far for the Event, we have a total of \$365,000. We still need to raise \$135,000 plus enough to cover Event costs to reach the goal of \$500,000. The committee is hoping to find a motivational speaker for the Event and welcomes suggestions. Steve Chrisman will check the Foundation insurance policy for coverage of special events.
- D.) VRCF Director for T.C. Hope Eric Shannon will schedule an executive committee meeting to discuss someone from the VRCF to serve as a director of T.C. Hope to monitor and ensure that VRCF funds be used for bricks and mortar as opposed to incidentals like plans and permits. President Anees mentioned he has attended some of the weekly meetings and recommends the chosen person be able to meet the substantial time commitment.
- E.) Future Foundation Meetings Eric Shannon encouraged the use of Zoom for the next two Foundation Board meetings with the hope that in person meetings may resume in January.

NEW BUSINESS: - None

NEXT MEETING: Next meeting will be at 7:00 am on Tuesday, October 26, 2021, via Zoom. "Thank you!" for all you do for The Foundation and our community!

ADJOURNMENT: Meeting adjourned at 7:25 a.m.

Francie Langley Secretary

Reminder) The Foundation is now registered with Amazon Smile Foundation. Shop online at smile.amazon.com for eligible merchandise and .5% of the purchase will be donated to our Foundation; *Club Representatives* please remind your clubs.

Foundation President Rotation Schedule:

VRC – Susan Lucas	2022-2023
VSR –	2023-2024
VCC –	2024-2025

VLR-if reinstated

VBR

With appreciation and thanks, we honor our Past Presidents:

29- Deborah Volosin	2020-2021
28- Ryan Purkiss	2019-2020
27- Bruce Nicotero	2018-2019
26- Lloyd Hicks	2017-2018
25- Marty Zeeb	2016-2017
24- Donn Ritter	2015-2016
23- Gerry Schneider	2014-2015
22- Dale Bruder	2013-2014
21- Peter Golombeck	2012-2013
20- Laurie Tiesiera	2011-2012
19- Al Fischer	2010-2011
18- Marvin Hansen	2009-2010
17- William Martin	2008-2009
16- Paul Sonier	2007-2008
15- Bob Eurich	2006-2007
14- Eric Shannon	2005-2006
13- Gorden Bergthold	2004-2005
12- Barbara Fuller	2003-2004
11- Dru Quesnoy	2002-2003
10- Dick Torrigino	2001-2002
9 - Don Estes	2000-2001
8 - H. R. Macklin	1999-2000
7 - Larry Benevento	1998-1999
6 - Gary Paden	1997-1998
5 - David Hyde	1996-1997
4 - Philip Hornburg	1995-1996
3 - Duane Scott	1994-1995
2 - Jim Cline	1993-1994
1 - Philip Hornburg	1992-1993