## VISALIA ROTARY COMMUNITY FOUNDATION MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Buckman-Mitchell, Inc. Community Room 500 North Santa Fe Avenue, Visalia, CA August 27, 2019

Meeting called to order at 7:02 a.m. by Ryan Purkiss, President.

PRESENT (\*indicates voting positions followed by two-year term expiration year): Ryan Purkiss, (President\*; Director of Finance\*, 2021), Duane Scott (Executive Secretary/Treasurer\*), Phil Hornburg (Vice President), Anees Akhund (Treasurer), Francie Langley (Secretary\*), Shirle Reynolds (Executive Assistant), Bruce Nicotero (Immediate Past President 2018-2019\*, 2020), Deborah Volosin (President Elect), Steve Chrisman (Director of Grants\*, 2021), Susan Lucas (Director of Scholarship Selection\*, 2020), Donn Ritter (Director of Scholarship Administration\*,2020), Gerry Schneider (Giving Administration & Tracking\*, 2021), Marty Zeeb (Major Projects Coordinator), Doug Arnold (VRC\*; Web Designer), Sarahelena Martinez (VLR\*), David Zarate (LRC), Juan Hernandez (VLR), Lina Contreras (VLR), and Gene Yunt (Financial Advisor). ABSENT: Eric Shannon (Executive Chairman\*; Director of Long-Range Fund Raising/Planned Giving\*, 2021), Dru Quesnoy (Director of Marketing\*, 2020), Steven McCartha (VCC\*), Mark Brackett (VBR\*), and Cheri Barnes (VSR\*).

**MINUTES**: The minutes of the July 23, 2019 meeting were approved as presented.

**FINANCIAL REPORT**: Duane Scott reported the total balance in all the accounts was \$6,716,021.73 at August 22, 2019 compared to the balance of \$5,251,975.89 at July 18, 2019. Scholarship checks were written during the month for a total of \$22,000. \$1,502,392.60 was received from the Charles Gorini Trust. Charles Gorini was a client of Gene Yunt's who lived simply, had no heirs, and bequeathed his estate to various charities. Our foundation received 20% of his estate. It was suggested the Foundation do something in his memory, possibly in the way of COS scholarship(s.) "Thank you" to Gene Yunt for being instrumental in the Gorini bequest. The welfare exemption from property taxes for the Respite House was approved by Tulare County (finally!) The Statement of Information has been filed with the California Secretary of State (so we're good for two more years!) The financial report shall be filed. (**Reminder**) The Foundation is now registered with Amazon Smile Foundation. Shop online at smile.amazon.com for eligible merchandise and .5% of the purchase will be donated to our Foundation; *Club Representatives* please remind your clubs.

## **OLD BUSINESS**:

- A.) Scholarship Committee Susan Lucas reported one scholarship application was received by the August 1<sup>st</sup> deadline and the scholarship was awarded. The next deadline is in October.
- B.) Grant Committee Steve Chrisman reported the last of the grant checks will be presented this week.

C.) Brewfest – Donn Ritter reported the Brewfest raised \$10,000 more than last year for a total of approximately \$53,000. Expenses were only about \$2,000 which includes buying linens for use in the future. There were about 300 attendees. In Donn's opinion 350 would be the maximum number of attendees to maintain the relaxed atmosphere. The \$50 ticket price was deemed a good price point. The breweries liked the event, liked the class of attendees, and some have already signed up for next year. There was positive feedback on the bourbon tasting from those who don't drink beer or wine. The desire to keep it a simple social event in the future was expressed. It was suggested to have a bit more food variety than just the sausages. One of the best benefits of the event was the presence and visibility of the Foundation. The games were a fun addition to the event and the DJ was a good choice for background music. It was mentioned that Uber or Lift might be good in the future. Many thanks to the Brewfest Committee, to Donn Ritter for his brewery connections, to Dru Quesnoy for bringing together the event, to the member clubs for wine and volunteers, and to the COS student volunteers. The date for next year is August 6, 2020.

## **NEW BUSINESS**

- A.) Updated Website Doug Arnold showed the Board the newly updated Foundation website. It tells about the Foundation and provides information on events hosted by the member clubs, current Foundation news, the Board meeting minutes and the bylaws. The site is secure, accepts donations, and is smart phone friendly. Grant and scholarship application forms are available to print or to complete and submit online. Doug reminded the Board that any information for the website needs to be given to him. He's the techman not the information source. [smiley face!] Suggestions of information to be added to the website included information on the Respite House and the cumulative amount of grants and scholarships awarded since inception. Doug also recommended a presence on Facebook to enhance awareness of the Foundation, its work, and its benefit as the only true community foundation in Visalia. Thank you, Doug. Well done!
- B.) Interested Donors Three members of the Downtown Club checked the box on their President's Letter indicting an interest in more information on the Foundation. Bruce Nicotero will contact them. It was suggested it's time to present information to the member clubs regarding the Foundation, how it works, and its successes.
- C.) Respite House A report on the use of the Respite House was requested to be an ongoing agenda item with the goal of creating a mechanism for regular updates.

**NEXT MEETING:** Reminder: Regular meetings are now on Tuesdays. Next meeting will be Tuesday, September 24, 2019 at 7:00 am; meeting to be held at the Buckman-Mitchell, Inc. Community Room, 500 North Santa Fe Avenue, Visalia, CA. "Thank you!" for all you do!

**ADJOURNMENT**: Meeting adjourned at 7:44 a.m.

Francie Langley Secretary

Foundation President Rotation Schedule:

VCC – Deborah Volosin	2020-2021
VLR –	2021-2022
VBR – Anees Akhund	2022-2023
VRC –	2023-2024
VSR –	2024-2025

## Past Presidents:

Dale Bruder	2013-2014
Gerry Schneider	2014-2015
Donn Ritter	2015-2016
Marty Zeeb	2016-2017
Lloyd Hicks	2017-2018
Bruce Nicotero	2018-2019